Header Image

St Clare's RC

Primary School

Quick Links


St Clare’s Primary School belongs to St. Hilda’s Catholic Academy Trust which governed by a Board of Directors who are responsible for, and oversee, the management and administration of the the academies run within the Trust.

All of the academies belongong to St Hilda’s Catholic Academy Trust  have a Local Management Board. The Trust Board delegate responsiblity to the Local Management Boards(LMB) for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role of the (LMB) is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Local Management Board works in close partnership with the Head Teacher and staff.  Whilst the Head Teacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance.

Membership of the Local Management Board includes parents, teaching staff and representatives from the local community.

Parent governors

Parents, including carers, of pupils are eligible to stand for election as governors. Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school.

Staff governors

The headteacher is a staff governor by virtue of their office. Other staff, both teaching and support, may become governors as long as they are paid (volunteers do not qualify). Staff governors are elected by the school staff.

Foundation  governors

Foundation governors are appointed by the school’s founding body, church or other organisation named in the school’s instrument of government. If the school has a religious character, the foundation governors must preserve and develop this.

 Our Governors

Register of Business/Dates of Office/Pecuniary Interest /Trust Board Member/Governor/Staff 2016/17


Local Management Board of  ST CLARE’S PRIMARY SCHOOL

Term of office until:
Appointed by:
Full Local Management Board
Rev Canon John Loughlin

Foundation governor at Trinity Catholic College, Middlesbrough


30.09.13 –


3/3 meetings 2016-17

The Bishop Chairperson    
Mrs Marlene McCarthy 31.08.14 –


3/3 meetings 2016-17

The Bishop Vice-Chair    
Mrs Joanne Smith

Community governor Sacred Heart Primary School

(Pecuniary interest-Helmanis and Howell)


3/3 meetings


The Bishop Head Teacher    
Mr Phillip Jeffery 29.11.2016-28.11.2020 Parents Parent G0vernor    
Mrs Barbara Pritchard 25.01.13 –


3/3 meetings



The Bishop Foundation Governor    
Mrs Phillipa McGouran 25.10.14 –


2/3  meetings


The Bishop Foundation Governor    
Mr John Shipley

(Pecuniary-Shipley Builders)

18.11.14 –


3/3 meetings


The Bishop Foundation Governor    
Miss Victoria White 01.10.14 –


3/3 meetings


Elected by staff Teacher Governor    
Mrs Carol Walker September 2016


The Bishop Foundation Governor    
Mr Colin Wilson 01.06.15 –


3/3 meetings



Elected by parents Parent Governor    




Latest tweets

To follow us on Twitter click here


To keep up to date with events and activities please complete the form below to register for our newsletter.

St Clares R.C. Primary School | Headteacher: Mrs Joanne Smith | Phone: 01642 815412
Itchy Logo
St Hildas Academy Trust
Eco-Schools Silver Award
School Games Silver
Arts Council
Basic Skills
RRS Logo
Healthy School